Kłodzko - www.klodzko.pl

We are not certain of its exact date because the information from legends and chronicles is rather inconsistent. It was built sometime between 1281 and 1390 in place of an old wooden bridge and offers a view of a section of the old defensive city walls.

The bridge is around 53 meters long and 6 metres wide. It is equipped with massive balustrades topped with stone sills. Over the centuries, the bridge suffered plenty of damage and was reinforced and rebuilt on numerous occasions. It used to have two gates: the Upper Gate was also a tower, which was a part of the defensive city walls, while the Lower Gate served as a tollgate with no defensive purposes and was closed for the night. Both gates were ultimately taken down when the city’s fortifications were demolished.

  • most1
  • most2
  • most3
  • most4
  • most5
  • most6
  • most7
  • most8

We are not certain as to the exact date of its construction because the information in legends and chronicles is often inconsistent. The bridge was built sometime between 1281 and 1390 in place of an old wooden bridge. Saint John’s Bridge is located at the southwest segment of the former defensive city walls, is 52.5 metres long, and around 5.70 metres wide. It is equipped with massive balustrades set on the stone sills. Over the centuries, the bridge suffered plenty of damage and was reinforced and rebuilt on numerous occasions. It used to have two gates: the Upper Gate was also a tower, which was a part of the defensive city walls, while the Lower Gate – reconstructed in 1543 by Jakub Adler, served as a tollgate with no defensive purposes and was closed for the night. Both gates were ultimately taken down after 1870 when the city’s fortifications were demolished.

The gothic bridge was built of partially carved stone and baroque brick, which was tied with lime mortar containing chicken whites collected from the regional villages. It is presented by 17th-century chronicler Georg Promnitz as follows: “In the year 1286, all villages of Kłodzko were forced to donate their eggs. Two city lackeys separated the whites and the yolks were then sold for the price of one haller in exchange a spoonful. The whites were then added to the lime used in construction of the bridge.”

In its long history, the bridge has survived numerous floods, including the great flood of 1997. The structure still bears a wet mark showing how high the water rose. Irrespectively of the above, the endless beauty of this unique baroque monument continues to draw admiration. This is one of the most beautiful and precious monuments in Kłodzko.

The bridge’s greatest features are its six votive statues, which were founded by the people of Kłodzko and local noblemen. Created by local sculptors, these statues are the perfect testament to the changes, which had occurred in European culture, and the Counter-Reformation movement of the Catholic Church. The first statue set on the balustrade was the Pieta, which opened the way to the baroque decorations of the bridge.

We are not certain of its exact date because the information from legends and chronicles is rather inconsistent. It was built sometime between 1281 and 1390 in place of an old wooden bridge and offers a view of a section of the old defensive city walls.

The bridge is around 53 meters long and 6 metres wide. It is equipped with massive balustrades topped with stone sills. Over the centuries, the bridge suffered plenty of damage and was reinforced and rebuilt on numerous occasions. It used to have two gates: the Upper Gate was also a tower, which was a part of the defensive city walls, while the Lower Gate served as a tollgate with no defensive purposes and was closed for the night. Both gates were ultimately taken down when the city’s fortifications were demolished.

  • most1
  • most2
  • most3
  • most4
  • most5
  • most6
  • most7
  • most8

We are not certain as to the exact date of its construction because the information in legends and chronicles is often inconsistent. The bridge was built sometime between 1281 and 1390 in place of an old wooden bridge. Saint John’s Bridge is located at the southwest segment of the former defensive city walls, is 52.5 metres long, and around 5.70 metres wide. It is equipped with massive balustrades set on the stone sills. Over the centuries, the bridge suffered plenty of damage and was reinforced and rebuilt on numerous occasions. It used to have two gates: the Upper Gate was also a tower, which was a part of the defensive city walls, while the Lower Gate – reconstructed in 1543 by Jakub Adler, served as a tollgate with no defensive purposes and was closed for the night. Both gates were ultimately taken down after 1870 when the city’s fortifications were demolished.

The gothic bridge was built of partially carved stone and baroque brick, which was tied with lime mortar containing chicken whites collected from the regional villages. It is presented by 17th-century chronicler Georg Promnitz as follows: “In the year 1286, all villages of Kłodzko were forced to donate their eggs. Two city lackeys separated the whites and the yolks were then sold for the price of one haller in exchange a spoonful. The whites were then added to the lime used in construction of the bridge.”

In its long history, the bridge has survived numerous floods, including the great flood of 1997. The structure still bears a wet mark showing how high the water rose. Irrespectively of the above, the endless beauty of this unique baroque monument continues to draw admiration. This is one of the most beautiful and precious monuments in Kłodzko.

The bridge’s greatest features are its six votive statues, which were founded by the people of Kłodzko and local noblemen. Created by local sculptors, these statues are the perfect testament to the changes, which had occurred in European culture, and the Counter-Reformation movement of the Catholic Church. The first statue set on the balustrade was the Pieta, which opened the way to the baroque decorations of the bridge.

The Pieta (the Virgin Mary holding the body of Christ)

is the central sculpture on the left side of the bridge when looking from Grottgera Street in the direction of the town square. It dates back to the year 1655 and was founded – which is confirmed in the preserved German blazons and inscriptions – by the erstwhile Starost of Kłodzko Count Johann Georg von Götzen and his wife Maria Elisabeth. We do not know who the sculptor was or the sculpting location. The Pieta is an iconographic depiction of the Madonna cradling the dead body of Christ in her lap. The pain seen in the faces only adds to the statue’s solemnity. The theme was most likely derived from medieval treatises on the Passion and is meant to symbolize Mary’s role in the act of salvation.

The founders and creators of Saint Wenceslaus

the statue standing below the Pieta on the same side of the bridge – are unknown. The only available information is the inscription on the lower base: ‘Errichtet im Jahre 1715’, which means ‘Built in 1715’. This local depiction of the patron of Bohemia presents a young man in armour holding a banner in his right hand and a shield in his left. The shield bears an eagle, the symbol of Bohemian statehood.

Saint John of Nepomuk

The last statue on the left in the direction of the town square is Saint John of Nepomuk. This sculpture was founded mainly by Francis, son of the Count von Götzen (who died on 31.10.1707). Cartouches with the coats of arms of the benefactor and his wife (a Lichtenstein princess) are still preserved on the pedestal. The statue depicts the saint in counterpoise, wearing a biretta and cassock, and holding a crucifix to symbolise his death as a martyr and devotion to Christianity. Depictions of Saint John of Nepomuk are often found in Silesia and in the neighbouring Bohemia and Moravia. His sculptures and statues can be encountered in almost every town, in numerous villages, and often at bridges and roads. He was also very popular in Kłodzko and one of his statues is located at the Assumption of Mary parish church.

The statue of Saint Francis Xavier

stands on the other side of the bridge and is the first in line from the direction of Grottgera Street. It is a sculpture complex cantered around Saint Francis – the patron of Kłodzko – with his hands raised at chest height, always ready to accept the needy. He is wearing a draped cassock and has a rosary strapped to his waist. One of the figures kneeling at his feet is a knight holding a shield bearing the coat of arms of Kłodzko. Immediately below the knight are two ill men asking for the saint’s protection and a Native American. The sculpture was raised by the people of Kłodzko as a votive offering for salvation from the plague, which allegedly claimed “a hundred men a day”. The German inscription “Im jahre 1714 von der Burgerschaft Errichtet Renovatum 1847, 1882, 1890, 1920” (Built by the townsmen in 1714, renovated in 1847, 1822, 1890, 1920) is still preserved. The first version was most likely created by Sebastian Plag, the son of a Viennese burgess and tailor. Unfortunately, the brittle sandstone used to make it was destroyed and the statue was replaced with a copy true to the original in 1920.

The Christ on the Cross and Saint Mary Magdalene

the next sculpture standing on the right side of the bridge in the direction of the town square – was erected on 5 October 1734 in place of a wooden cross. According to the coat of arms on the base and the now-faded inscription, the sculpture was likely founded by the Count von Herberstein or his wife. There is also a barely legible inscription next to the benefactor’s coat of arms: “Anno 1281 ist die Bruce Gebauer, Anno 1701 den 22 August ist selbe erneuert worden (This bridge was built in 1281 and renovated on 22 August in the year 1701). The statue represents the martyrdom of Christ, “whose death brought us eternal life”.

the Holy Trinity and the Crowning of the Virgin Mary

The last sculpture on the bridge presents the Holy Trinity and the Crowning of the Virgin Mary. The Coronation depicts Mary kneeling in the clouds with the Holy Father and Christ at both her sides holding a crown above her head. The sculpture is crowned with the dynamic image of the Holy Spirit depicted as a dove spreading beams of glory over the others in full baroque splendour. According to the cartouche holding the coat of arms and the monogram at the statue, it was founded by Franz Ferdinand, the Baron of Fitschen and the owner of Gorzuchów.

stopka UE

Projekt "Budowa innowacyjnych e-usług w Gminie Miejskiej Kłodzko" współfinansowany przez Unię Europejską ze środków Europejskiego Funduszu Rozwoju Regionalnego w ramach Regionalnego Programu Operacyjnego Województwa Dolnośląskiego na lata 2014-2020 oraz budżetu Gminy Miejskiej Kłodzko

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.